Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2009 Xc70 T6 3.0 Continued MISFIRE ISSUES Need HELP PLEASE

More
4 years 1 month ago #38809 by MauiVolvoGuy
Greetings from Maui During lock down from Covid 19. What weird times we are in right now

First thing. I'm not actually a mechanic. I'm a pro photographer acting as shade tree mechanic trying to understand what is wrong with my car when things are tight financially.

I have a 2009 Volvo XC70 T6 3.0 Turbo with a 185,000 miles on it. Had it for a long time & for a long time just brought my car to someone to fix but in recent years & have been doing work& maintence on it myself.

In the past four months the radiator, alternator & breather box when bad I replaced all. Then the thermostat whet bad & was running low temp & I ran the car with the engine light on for 165 miles like this killing the catalytic converter unfortunately.

My problems continue with this car as about 2 months ago started getting misfire code for cylinder 3 on Bluedriver. I had never changed the spark plugs so I changed all plugs with iruduim plugs (Not OEM). I also bought a a Napa non (OEM) coil & installed it on cylinder 3. Checking all the plugs they all look pretty good.

This solved the problem for a a few days.

Then another code on cylinder 3. My buddy a pro mechanic in Oregon told me to check the fuel injectors. I pulled the fuel rail & cylinder 3 had a fuel injector with no "Pittle Cap" on end & o-ring was stuck in the port of engine block. I bought a new OEM fuel injector for cylinder 3 & installed all new O-rings on both sides of all fuel injectors & reinstalled.