Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2003 Subaru WRX - New MAF Sensor

More
5 years 3 months ago #28103 by tmcquinn
I'm very new to logging. I'm using a bluetooth adapter in the OBDII port and Torque Pro on an Android.

I've been logging the A/F ratio, MAF g/s, short & long term fuel trims, and a few other values for a few days to get a feel for the baseline. I cleaned the old MAF sensor and immediately got several more MPGs. Short + Long term trims mostly added up to 5-6. But I had already ordered a new MAF sensor. I figured, hey, why not put it in and see what happens? Certainly not what I expected. I didn't reset anything. I was thinking let the computer take the new readings and do what it wants to get A/F to 14.7. I thought doing it that way might tell me more about whether I achieved anything with the new sensor. I drove 35 miles to 'work'. I could see the MAF grams/second changing with the throttle. I could see the fuel trims going up and down. But once the car warmed up (entered closed loop?) the air/fuel ratio displayed 15.03 and stayed there for the rest of the trip. I can't reconcile this. If the computer was seeing that a/f ratio wouldn't it just keep adding fuel until it finally threw a code? I'm thinking I need to pull the battery cable on the car, reboot my phone, and try again. Or maybe it's idiotic and not do a reset after replacing the MAF sensor and I'm just not understanding the basics.

"I'll never know it all but I'm willing to settle for knowing where to find the answer!"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 3 months ago #28104 by Tyler